Slackers Guide to Mondays (NSFW)

In my more whimsical moments I sometimes think that one fine day I’ll make my peace with Mondays. Thankfully these whimsical interludes pass soon enough and I get back to enthusiastically hating Mondays.

I do know people, although wouldn’t acknowledge them in public, who say they wouldn’t quit their jobs even if they won the lottery or inherited millions – “because what would I do with all the free time???”

Well bugger if you need to work to use up your time you should have been born an iron or a washing machine! Anyone with a bit of imagination knows that there are  million better things to do with one’s life than work.

Unfortunately most of the things that I’d like to do require a fair amount of money – so I spend all of my time working to earn enough money to do the things that I don’t in any case have enough time for.

But anyway – one problem at a time.

Things to do to get through Monday

  1. Get Marketing and Operations to argue during the Monday morning meeting
  2. Drink coffee slowly, fiddle with empty cup, take empty cup, slowly, to the kitchen
  3. Check out what all 2398 friends are doing on Facebook
  4. Read and ignore internal memos and mails
  5. Plan some urgent social events
  6. Print meaningless documents and stroll slowly to the photocopier to collect them
  7. Phone mother
  8. Flip through diary pretending to intend to do the things written there
  9. Go through last week’s entries and smile to self at how little actually got done
  10. Go and bother various other colleagues
  11. Make silly lists of things to do to get through Mondays

Wooohooo only 30 minutes left. Just enough time for a few games of solitaire 🙂

dilbert-slacker

Leave a Reply

