Disconnected

metoo
I thought this must be loneliness
This pressure of a thousand tears
Pressing against my eyeballs
With no release in sight

I thought it might be depression
This dull gloomy thought
That connects with every other
Dark and dreary idea

Or maybe anxiety
That’s boiling my blood
Buzzing my ears
And rattling my bones

But it’s a loneliness beyond the comfort of company
A depression beyond the reach of joy
A panic that can’t be calmed

I think that
In the midst of all this interconnection
I’m still sad, anxious, alone
And lost

Like a plug without a socket
In the great machine of life
In the midst of universal love
I am disconnected

Leave a Reply

