Truly Almost Glad

salvador-dali-gala-of-spheres-1359583056_b

I was so sure you were real…

Even though when we shagged
You weren’t in the room
And the more I said I love you
The less you seemed to care

Perhaps I was not real
Not present
Somehow lacking
In vigour or grace

Perhaps you were not ready
Or not that impressed
As I sang about loyalty
While stalking your soul

So I crafted a fiction
About redemption
Retribution
Softness
and lies

It’s on me
On my karmic account
All the unwanted attention
The cheap white wine and cheeseburgers
Meaningless phonecalls
And silly desperate jokes

And I’m truly almost sorry
Truly almost glad
You were the best Imaginary Lover
That I never had

Leave a Reply

