On The 8th Day God Created Yamaha

P1020066

It’s been a very strange day. Strange even for me. I’ve been counting down my remaining days at my current job for about 3 years and got down to five. Then things got weird. After a combination of diplomacy, swearing and filing cabinet punching it was decided that I could fuck off immediately.

Which is all for the good because I got to find a canopy for my bakkie, sell my guitar and meet Bennie.

And yes this does relate somewhat to the picture above – don’t rush me.

Bennie answered my Gumtree ad for my never used Cort guitar. What I liked about Bennie was his habit of ending the brief SMS’s and chats with the words ‘Be Blessed.’ I’m an absolute sucker for random acts of kindness. Just hearing it cheered me up.

So I kinda blew off the other poncy Bryanston contender for the adoption of my much loved (and never used) guitar and arranged to meet Bennie at 4.

OK well here’s the bloody connection already!

Bennie is a member of the Christian Motorcycle association http://www.cmasa.org.za/About.aspx

And a nicer guy you could not hope to meet. If I wasn’t Jewish I would have signed up immediately. Hell (sic.) would even have gone and bought a bike again. And we had a lovely little chat about Jesus and forgiveness and old Yamaha XJ series bikes.

I was quite apologetic and explained that my old mum would have issues. Not with the bike side – she bought me my first two motorbikes – but with the Jesus bit. Only thing I could do worse than that would be to tell her I have a Muslim girlfriend. (No mom I don’t – it’s hypothetical!)

But he did leave me with a very funky leather jacket pocket sized bible. I liked reading about the translation challenges but after a couple of hundred words about who begat who I kinda lost interest in the main story.

Then I, after thinking that the http://punktorah.org/about-punktorah/ guys were pretty cool, then reading that their discount online conversion drive may not be sanctioned by the authorities, decided to search for Jewish Motorcycle Associations.

And found the picture above.

So you see it is all effen connected – just don’t rush me!

Leave a Reply

