Killing Sadness

dream_3061f176ac

There’s a sadness beyond words
That crawls up from the pit of my stomach
Gets stuck in my throat
Making me think I want to say crazy things
Like sorry or I love you
Presses against the inside of my eyes
Making me think that I want to cry

And I hear myself saying
I’m not sad
Everything is fine
I feel fine

But this sadness inside of me
Doesn’t care about words, brave or pathetic
Is not impressed by pills or booze
Or sex or madness
Does not even care much about
Things like life and death

It just feeds endlessly on all the sadness in the world
Growing stronger and sadder all the time
And I have no idea how to kill it
Before it kills me

Leave a Reply

