Evil Words

I think I broke something
Something fragile and precious
That existed between us

I felt that we were drifting apart
But perhaps that was just me
Sinking back into myself

I saw signs of your cruelty
And carelessness everywhere
Or was that just my narcissistic paranoia?

And all may well have been alright
May have turned out alright
If I’d kept my mouth shut

But I let evil into the world
Fearfully, carelessly, selfishly
Again

And we can never be
Innocently trusting
Again

arundhati

Leave a Reply

