Eir

 

Eir

I wanted to find a poem for you
Not for any very good reason
But because I had fallen under your spell
And thought I could make a deal
Offering you some pretty words
In return for my freedom

Then I realised that  I am free
And anyway you are a Viking Princess
And not the Dark Priestess of my dreams
Not even the post punk femme fatale
That I’ve been avoiding and conjuring
For most of my adolescent life

So I searched hurriedly through the collection
And quickly came to realise
That none of my wordy trinkets
Were worthy

So my fair and infuriatingly beautiful lady
I come to you empty handed and humble
Offering you, instead of the usual pyrotechnic psychobabble,
My friendship and my thanks

Part warrior, part princess
All lady
You are truly
An inspiration

🙂

 

Leave a Reply

